Decayed Leaf (starring A. Camus)

tumblr_n7uj7be7AH1qa0t74o1_500
One night in Marseille, I met my friend from university. We talked about our days at university. He was a goalkeeper and I was the stopper of the football team of university. We started to argue about what’s the assignment of footballers in the pitch. He was goalkeeper, that’s why he had seen a wider area of the football pitch than me. After that delighted arguement we lit our cigarettes and walked down to the port. The autumn wind blew the orange leaves on the port. I was staring at laughing young girls. He was looking at the sea and paced on a dry leaf. He stopped through the rustle, and he asked “What’s the purpose of a leaf?”

I: In 4th grade, my teacher asked “what’s the purpose of a leaf?” at an exam.
C: What did you say?
I: Not to fall.
C: Oh my gosh! Not to fall…
I: 0 point.
C: What a shit. He gave 0 point for this answer?
I: Eeehh… I didn’t say something like photosynthesis.
C: Why does a leaf photosynthesis?
I: Again same answer. To live.
C: But how to live? There is a life and there is another life. Our kinda life. If it calls “to live”.
I: What do men live by?
C: By the code to hurt others, hurt and destroy.
I: In that case, a leaf decays on tree.
C: Although it decayed, it stays on there.
I: It’s like the heart of a human. Look! I think your heart is decayed, and stinky.
C: Merciless…
I: Loveless…
C: Unfair…
I: Bland…
C: Heartless…
I: Deficient…
C: Greedy…
I: And alone.
C: What do men live by during their life?
I: Their business is to hurt, to steal, to beat it. Thus, you can live in this world.
C: Not like this.
4b76043caa5eb7d21a445958c361fee7

Decayed Leaf (starring A. Camus)

Leave a Reply

